Faculty Leaders

At the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, faculty participation in shared governance is exercised through the Faculty Business Senate, an elected body, and by elected faculty representatives.

Faculty Business Senate

The Faculty Senate represents the entire faculty in all matters of appropriate faculty concern for the purpose of continuing contact and communication with the administration. It assumes broad responsibilities for fostering high academic standards and for participating in decisions and concerns involving the quality of education at the School and the morale and well-being of its staff, students, and faculty. The Faculty Senate also elicits active student and faculty participation in most aspects of policy determination and fosters an atmosphere in the School which encourages maximum involvement of students and faculty. 

Chair, Faculty Business Senate

Anne T. Sullivan 
Associate Professor, Historic Preservation

An image of Anne T. Sullivan.

The committees convened and overseen by the Faculty Senate are the key consultative bodies within the School’s system of shared governance. 

Exhibitions & Exhibition Studies 
Fiscal Affairs 
Remunerations and Benefits 
Instructional Resources & Technology 
Library & Special Collections 
Part-Time Faculty Concerns 
School Climate 
Visiting Artists Program 

Faculty Business Senate Roster 
Meeting Minutes

Chair of Faculty

Shaurya Kumar 
Professor, Printmedia

An image of Shaurya Kumar standing in a gallery.

The chair of faculty establishes and oversees programs for faculty development as teachers, practitioners, and researchers and works with the deans to develop systems and processes for mentoring all faculty.

Faculty Liaison

Adam Mack 
Associate Professor, Liberal Arts

An image of Adam Mack speaking at a podium.

The faculty liaison works with the chair of faculty to facilitate relations between the faculty and the Office of the Dean of Faculty, Office of the Provost, and Office of the President, providing information and support for faculty issues and questions. 

Academic Department Heads

Academic SpineRachel Niffenegger
Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Designed Objects: ArchitectureDoug Pancoast
Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Designed Objects: Designed ObjectsTim Parsons
Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Designed Objects: Interior ArchitectureDoug Pancoast
Art and Technology/Sound PracticesJudd Morrissey
Art EducationSarah Ross
Art History, Theory, and CriticismDaniel Quiles
Art Therapy and CounselingAdelheid Mers
Arts Administration and PolicyAdelheid Mers
CeramicsMarie Hermann
Contemporary PracticesAndy Hall
Fashion DesignKatrin Schnabl
Fiber and Material StudiesChristine Tarkowski
Film, Video, New Media, and AnimationBruce Jenkins
Historic PreservationNicholas Lowe
Liberal ArtsPatrick Rivers
Low-Residency MFAAliza Shvarts
Painting and DrawingMichelle Grabner
PerformanceMark Jeffery
PhotographyAlan Labb
PrintmediaOli Watt
SculptureMary Jane Jacob
Visual and Critical StudiesShawn Smith
Visual Communication DesignPiotr Michura
WritingMark Booth

Faculty Dashboard

Find the Faculty Handbook, guides, and resources on the Faculty Dashboard.