Tatsu Aoki, Matthew Angelo Harrison, Guadalupe Rosales, and Martine Syms Awarded 2020 USA Fellowships

Adjunct Professor Tatsu Aoki (BFA 1983, MFA 1985, Film, Video, New Media, and Animation), Matthew Angelo Harrison (BFA 2012), Guadalupe Rosales (MFA 2016), and Martine Syms (BFA 2007) were among the recipients of the United States Artists  (USA) 2020 Fellowship Award, which grants up to $50,000 in unrestricted funds to artists. Aoki was awarded the fellowship in the Traditional Arts category. Harrison and Syms received the award in the Visual Art category, and new media and installation artist Rosales received the prestigious fellowship in the Media category. Each year, USA fellowships are given to the most compelling artists working and living in the United States, in all disciplines, at every stage of their career. This year awards were given to 50 artists across 10 disciplines. Read more about all the awardees here.

“We are so honored to celebrate the artists who are making vital contributions to the country's creative ecosystem,” said United States Artists President & CEO Deana Haggag. “It is a critically important time to support the livelihoods of artists and we are ecstatic to be able to honor 50 of them this year. The 2020 class is the largest cohort of Fellows we have awarded since we relocated to Chicago, and each and every one of them stands out as a visionary influence in their respective field.”