School Takes Top Spots on Newcity's Art 50 List

Several members from SAIC's community were included on Newcity’s  Art 50 2017 list of Chicago’s “visual vanguard,” artists, curators, educators, and collectors whose work has been instrumental in solidifying the city’s status as a leader in art and design. 

Among them are President Elissa Tenny; Dean of Graduate Studies Arnold J. Kemp; Professor Mary Jane Jacob, who also serves as the Executive Director of Exhibitions and Exhibitions Studies and the Director of the Institute for Curatorial Research and Practice; Professor and Director of the Low-Residency MFA program Gregg Bordowitz; Adjunct Associate Professor in Sound and Liberal Arts John Corbett; Adjunct Assistant Professor in Art History, Theory, and Criticism Shane Campbell (MA 1998); and Daniel Berger, member of SAIC's Board of Governors; as well as several Museum leaders and trustees.

A number of alumni and SAIC honorary degree recipients also made the list, including Sebastian Campos (BFA 2001, MA 2005), Valerie Carberry (BFA 1993), James Dempsey (BFA 1991), Stefan Edlis (HON 2016), Theaster Gates (HON 2015), Emily Green (BFA 2005), Rhona Hoffman (HON 2015), Césareo Moreno (MFA 1992), Gael Neeson (HON 2016), Julie Rodrigues Widholm (MA 1999), and Caroline Picard (MFA 2010).