SAIC Faculty and Alums Top Newcity's Art 50 List

Newcity's annual Art 50 issue was recently released featuring "Chicago's artists' artists—past, present, and future."  Seventy-six percent of the list features SAIC community members, "artists who take risks and make their own ways," according to Newcity. These alums, faculty, and honorary degree recipients took 38 of the 50 spots, showing why Chicago is a place for artists to thrive.

Congratulations to all of the SAIC community members featured on the list.

Kerry James Marshall (HON 2017)

Gladys Nilsson (BFA 1962, HON 2016)

Theaster Gates (HON 2014)

Richard Hunt (BA 1957, HON 1979)

Jim Nutt (BFA 1967, HON 2016)

Karl Wirsum (BFA 1962, HON 2016)

Michelle Grabner (Painting and Drawing)

Judy Ledgerwood (MFA 1984)

Nick Cave (Fashion Design)

Chris Ware (SAIC 1991–93)

Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle (MFA 1989)

LaToya Ruby Frazier (Photography)

Industry of the Ordinary: Adam Brooks (MFA 1988) and Mathew Wilson (MFA 1993, Contemporary Practices)

Anne Wilson (Fiber and Material Studies)

Tony Tasset (MFA 1985)

Lin Hixson (Performance) and Matthew Goulish (Writing)

Joseph Grigely (Visual and Critical Studies)

Edra Soto (MFA 2000, Contemporary Practices)

Claire Pentecost (Photography)

Rashayla Marie Brown (BFA 2013, Photography)

Barbara Rossi (MFA 1970, Painting and Drawing)

Dianna Frid (MFA 2003)

Maria Gaspar (Contemporary Practices)

Jeanne Dunning (MFA 1985)

Richard Rezac (Painting and Drawing)

Jan Tichy (MFA 2009, Photography)

William J. O'Brien (MFA 2005, Ceramics)

Lou Mallozzi (BFA 1978, Sound)

Alberto Aguilar (Contemporary Practices)

Deborah Stratman (BFA 1990)

Candida Alvarez (Painting and Drawing)

José Lerma (Painting and Drawing)

Alex Chitty (MFA 2008, Printmedia)

Anna Kunz (BFA 1991)

Tony Lewis (MFA 2012)

Jenny Kendler (MFA 2006)

Dan Devening (Painting and Drawing)

Latham Zearfoss (BFA 2008)

See the full list here.