Low-Residency MFA: Alumni

Featured Alumni

Betelhem Makonnen (MFA 2019)

Notable Awards Received: Tito's Prize 2020; Austin Critics Table Award 2018, Best Gallery Exhibition, yo soy aqui / i am here; New Artist Society Merit Scholarship 2016, School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Artist Website

Nyugen E. Smith (MFA 2016)

Notable Awards Received: 2020 Dr. Doris Derby Award (Dashboard); 2019 Visual Artist of the Year, Jersey City Arts Council; 2018 Joan Mitchell Painters and Sculptors Grant; 2018 Franklin Furnace Award; 2016 Leonore Annenberg Fellowship for the Performing and Visual Arts. 

Artist Website

Zsuzsanna Szegedi (MFA 2017)

Notable Awards Received: Modem Studio Residency Award, Hungary; Stella Jerome Prager Scholarship, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago; Vermont Studio Center Artist Residency Fellowship; Blanche E. Colman Award, Blanche E. Colman Foundation; Puffin Foundation Grant Award

Artist Website

Disclaimer: All work represents the views of the individual authors and artists who created them, and are not those of the School or Museum of the Art Institute.