Seven SAIC Community Members Named 2021 United States Artists Fellows

Alums Mother Cyborg (MFA 2006), Idris Goodwin (MFA 2005), Walter Hood (MFA 2013), Jennifer Reeder (MFA 1996), and Ni’Ja Whitson (MFA 2007) and Associate Professor Maria Gaspar and Assistant Professor Salvador Jiménez-Flores received the prestigious United States Artists Fellowship, which grants each of the 60 artists selected $50,000 unrestricted awards. This year, these "storytellers, shapemakers, movement builders, and cultural bearers" were recognized as distinguished artists who have made extraordinary contributions to their fields. Each was chosen carefully for their bold artistic vision and significant impact that continues to inspire people and enhance their discipline.