Large sunny garden filled with sculptures in downtown Chicago

SAIC Announces New Faculty for the 2023–24 School Year

The School of the Art Institute of Chicago welcomes its newest cohort of tenure-track faculty, many of whom will join us this fall. These nine artists, designers, and scholars represent the wide breadth of work undertaken at SAIC and highlight each of our core values.

Nine black and white portraits of the new faculty members

Eric Hotchkiss, Designed Objects
Jessica Jackson Hutchins, Painting and Drawing
Gionata Gatto, Designed Objects
Melita Morales, Art Education
Alan Kwan, Film, Video, New Media, and Animation
Vanessa Damilola Macaulay, Performance
Robert Burnier, Painting and Drawing
Nyeema Morgan, Sculpture
Doug Rosman, Art and Technology-Sound Practices

Though the majority of this group will begin this fall, Alan Kwan will start in spring 2024 and Gionata Gatto, Jessica Jackson Hutchins, and Nyeema Morgan will start in fall 2024. Eric Hotchkiss, Jessica Jackson Hutchins, and Doug Rosman previously taught at SAIC as part-time faculty members, and Robert Burnier joins SAIC from the Art Institute where he was a departmental specialist technician for European Painting and Sculpture.

The School also welcomes the following four AICAD fellows this fall:

Kimberley Ayala Najera, Interior Architecture 
Aaron Neal, Architecture, Interior Architecture 
Uthman Olowa, Architecture, Interior Architecture 
Chris Salas, Ceramics

Four headshots of the AIACAD Fellows

Kim Ayala Najera, Interior Architecture; Aaron Neal, Architecture, Interior Architecture; Uthman Olowa, Architecture, Interior Architecture; Chris Salas, Ceramics