Krems Residency


AIR – ARTIST IN RESIDENCE Niederösterreich: One- to Two-Month Residencies
June 1 – July 30, 2024

AIR – ARTIST IN RESIDENCE Niederösterreich
Open to Faculty in the Degree Programs

To promote international exchange, the federal state of Lower Austria has established an artist-in-residence program with five studio apartments and a large common room on the top floor of the former carpet factory within the Art Mile in Krems (Kunstmeile Krems). To ensure diversity, a vibrant atmosphere, and the opportunity for both international and interdisciplinary exchange, the program awards its scholarships to artists from many different countries who work in the visual arts, literature, architecture, and music.

Through an exchange program between SAIC and AIR – ARTIST IN RESIDENCE Niederösterreich, SAIC faculty residents are provided a furnished apartment and a shared studio space from June 1 to July 30 each summer. In exchange, artists from Austria are awarded SAIC-sponsored residencies in Chicago from June 1 to August 1 each summer.

While there are multiple international artists-in-residence in Krems at any one time, each is sponsored by a different organization. Consider this an unstructured and independent residency with informal support from the sponsoring agency. SAIC provides a $1500 stipend per month to assist with travel expenses. Knowledge of German is helpful but not required.

Once selected, recipients are asked to provide extensive documentation of their practice to the sponsoring arts organization in Krems and to submit a final report to be posted on their website.

Eligibility Criteria

Faculty in the degree program are eligible to apply for AIR – ARTIST IN RESIDENCE Niederösterreich. Selections are based on the strength of the proposal, the applicant’s record of creative and scholarly achievements, the length of tenure at the institution, and the candidate’s history of awards from SAIC. For full-time faculty, priority consideration will be given to applicants who have actively contributed to the school community. Applicants who are not in compliance with SAIC required trainings and/or who have not fulfilled credential documentation requirements will not be considered.

Summer 2024 Dates

Applicants will be asked to prioritize residency dates for either a one– or two–month residency:

  • First one-month period—Saturday, June 1 to Sunday, June 30, 2024
  • Second one-month period—Monday, July 1 to Tuesday, July 30, 2024
  • Two-month period—Saturday, June 1 to Tuesday, July 30, 2024

Applications are due on or before Monday, March 20, 2023.

TO APPLY, complete the AIR – ARTIST IN RESIDENCE Niederösterreich Residency Application. 

You must be logged in to your SAIC email account to complete the form and apply. If you have any technical difficulty, including problems accessing the form, please contact the CRIT Department. The application can also be accessed by pasting the link below into your browser: 

You must convert all documents into PDFs before uploading. Required files to upload include:

  1. Proposal: One- to two-page description of project and its relevance to your practice, including the potential for completed works or outcomes.
  2. CV: Current résumé or curriculum vitae
  3. For Full-Time Faculty Only: Service and/or contributions to the school community performed over the past three academic years. Full-time faculty should include a list of all service performed for the school over the current and prior two academic years (with dates).

Review and Selection

All submissions are reviewed by members of the Deans Selection Committee, which includes the Deans, and elected full-time and part-time faculty representatives. Individual recipients are contacted via SAIC email in mid-May.

Funds will be distributed either via a one-time payment or through reimbursements via Concur.

Former Recipients

Krems, Austria
2023: Sid Branca, Adam Greteman
2020 Josh Dihle, Tom Burtonwood
2019: Tim Parsons, Jessica Charlesworth, Oli Watt
2018: Eric Leonardson, Marlena Novak
2017: Mary Lou Zelazny, Margaret Hawkins
2016:Dan Price, James Yood
2015: Lou Mallozzi, Alison Ruttan
2014: Nic Collins, Mary Patten
2013: Irina Botea, Ruth Margraff
2012: Adelheid Mers, Shawn Decker
2011: Aimee Beaubien, Peter O'Leary
2010: Anders Nereim, Brian Torrey Scott
2009: Calvin Forbes, Mayumi Lake
2008: Simon Anderson, Fred Nagelbach
2007: Rolf Achilles, Michiko Itatani
2006: Alan Labb, Mark Booth
2005: Vince Michael, Michael Ryan
2004 Dan Devening
2003: Ken Fandell, Gordon Powell
2002: Sally Alatalo, Michelle Grabner
2001: Frances Whitehead

Austrian Recipients
2020: Julia Haugeneder
2019: Veronika Burger
2018 Marie Reichel
2017: Eva Engelbert
2016: Christoph Bruckner
2015: Johann Lurf
2014: Sissi Makovec
2013: Michael Strasser, multidisciplinary artist and photographer
2012: Nina Hoechtl, photographer
2011: Michael Niemetz, interdisciplinary artist and Johanna Braun, painter
2010: Stefan Schuster, painter and interdisciplinary artist
2009: Sebastian Weissenbacher, painter
2008: Philip Haupt, interdisciplinary artist
2007: Felix Malnig, painter
2006: Rainer Spangl, painter Veronika Dirnhofer, painter
2005: Edeltraud Haselsteiner, architectural theorist and historian
2004: Christine Gloggengiesser, interdisciplinary artist
2003: Katarina Matiasek, architect