A wide shot of a ceramics studio, featuring students working with pottery wheels and other tools.

2019/2020 James Weinstein Memorial Fellowship and Fred Endsley Memorial Fellowships Recipients Announced

The Department of Photography is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019/2020 James Weinstein Memorial Fellowship and the Fred Endsley Memorial Fellowships. Thank you all for your participation in this process!

Weinstein Memorial Fellowship Recipient

Jenny Rafalson

The family and friends of James Weinstein established the James Weinstein Memorial Fund for Photographic Artists in 1994 at the School of the Art Institute.  The James Weinstein Memorial Fellowship is awarded to a second-year graduate student in the Department of Photography to aid MFA candidate with his/her/their thesis exhibition. 

Weinstein Committee:
Marzena Abrahamik, Aimee Beaubien, Jonas Becker, Alan Labb, Kate O’Neill, Sasha Phyars-Burgess, Oliver Sann, Jan Tichy

* * * * *
Endsley Memorial Fellowship Recipients

Laura Petersen

Jennifer Villanueva

Vivian Wan

Joel Whitely


The Endsley Memorial Fellowships in memory of former faculty member Fred Endsley, are awarded every year to graduating BFA candidates whose emphasis has been in the Photography Department. The awards are intended to facilitate the completion of a Fall or Spring BFA Thesis Exhibition.

Endsley Committee:
Marzena Abrahamik, Jesse Avina, Aimee Beaubien, Jonas Becker, Robert Clarke-Davis, Barbara Diener, Robert Heishman, Alan Labb, Mayumi Lake, Jessica Pierotti, Sasha Phyars-Burgess, Oliver Sann, Chris Schneberger, Sonja Thomsen, Jan Tichy