SAIC Community Members Make Newcity's Film 50 List

This year's edition of Newcity's Film 50 list highlights Chicago's behind-the-scenes film community, and several SAIC community members were included. The list features the visionary educators, producers, mentors, exhibitors, and archivists whose work is essential to the Chicago film community, which according to Newcity, "is in a warm, fuzzy place for now."

SAIC community members who made the list are Amy Beste, Director of Public Programs, Curator of Conversations at the Edge, and faculty in the Departments of Film, Video, New Media, and Animation and Art History, Theory, and Criticism; Jean de St. Aubin, Executive Director of SAIC's Gene Siskel Film Center; Barbara Scharres, Director of Programming at the Siskel Film Center; Marty Rubin, Associate Director of Programming at the Siskel Film Center; Abina Manning, Executive Director of SAIC's Video Data Bank; Emily Eddy (BFA 2013), Distribution Assistant at the Video Data Bank; and Patrick Friel, faculty in the Department of Art History, Theory, and Criticism. Alumni who made the list include Paula Froehle (MFA 1990), Becca Hall (MFA 2013), Debra Tolchinsky (BFA 1999, MFA 2003), and Cameron Worden (MFA 2013). View the full list of Chicago's screen gems here.