A wide shot of a ceramics studio, featuring students working with pottery wheels and other tools.

SAIC Artists and Curators Receive DCASE Residency Awards

The City of Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE) and the Joyce Foundation recently announced the recipients of the 2014–15 DCASE Studio Artist and Curatorial Residency Awards. Out of 200 applicants, the jurors chose six Studio Artists in Residence and two Curatorial Fellows. Three of the Public Studio Artists in Residence award recipients are SAIC community members: alumna Alexandria Eregbu (BFA 2013) and faculty members Jeremiah Hulsebos-Spofford (Contemporary Practices)and Cheryl Pope (Fashion Design, Contemporary Practices), who will each receive a $6,000 stipend and a dedicated studio space for three months in an area of the Chicago Cultural Center that is not accessible to the public. The Curatorial Fellows, both SAIC alumni, receive $2,500 "to support the research and development of a curatorial project." Allison Glenn (MA 2010) and Ross Jordan (Dual MA 2013) will work on the Presidential Library Project.