A wide shot of a ceramics studio, featuring students working with pottery wheels and other tools.

14 SAIC Community Figures Featured in Newcity’s Annual Design 50 Issue

Newcity features 14 SAIC community figures in its annual "Design 50" issue, a list comprising the most influential individuals that present and promote design in Chicago.

In this list, Newcity highlights many notable figures involved in the SAIC community, emphasizing their impact on the design scene through efforts that serve to “keep the creative industry humming” in Chicago. Among those mentioned are Tanner Woodford, SAIC faculty in the department of Visual Communication and Executive Director of the Chicago Design Museum; Deborah Colman (MFA 1987), SAIC alum and owner of Pavilion Antiques in Bucktown; Jonathan Solomon, director of the Department of Architecture, Interior Architecture and Designed Objects at SAIC; Andrea Reynders (BFA 1971), an SAIC alum and Professor Emeritus of SAIC’s Department of Fashion Design currently serving as Design Director at Chicago Fashion Incubator; SAIC alum Morlen Sinoway (BFA 1976), owner of Morlen Sinoway Atelier; Zoë Ryan, SAIC faculty member and Curator of the second annual Istanbul Design Biennial; and SAIC alum Zurich Esposito (MS 1995), Executive Vice President of American Institute of Architects in Chicago.

Other significant community figures that were recognized include Gordon Segal, who currently serves on the Board of Trustees at the Art Institute of Chicago; Ikram Goldman, recipient of the 2011 Legend of Fashion award at SAIC’s THE WALK; Cindy Pritzker, philanthropist serving on the Committee on Architecture and Design at the Art Institute of Chicago; Mellody Hobson, who served on the SAIC Junior Board from 1998–2000; Lynn Osmond, a member of the SAIC Design Council since 2008; Theaster Gates, Visiting Artist to SAIC in 2014; and Bruce Mau, SAIC honorary doctorate recipient in 2006 and co-founder of the design consultancy firm Massive Change Network. Both Gates and Mau were previously named as William and Stephanie Sick Distinguished Professors at SAIC.

Read about all the individuals included here on Newcity’s Design 50 list. Two current SAIC New Arts Journalism students also contributed to the story: Troy Pieper (MA 2015) and Jessica Sattell (MA 2015).

Image from article
Pictured: Jonathan Solomon, Director of the Department of Architecture, Interior Architecture and Designed Objects at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago
All photos by Joe Mazza/Brave-Lux taken on location at the Graham Foundation