A wide shot of a ceramics studio, featuring students working with pottery wheels and other tools.

Creative Capital Announces 2016 Awardees

Creative Capital selected 46 projects from a pool of 2,500 proposals and will award each project up to $50,000 in direct funding and additional resources and advisory services. Alum Ben Thorp Brown (MFA 2012) received the award in Performing Arts, SAIC Writing Professor Jesse Ball is a 2016 awardee in Literature, and SAIC Art and Technology Assistant Professor Heather Dewey-Hagborg is a 2016 awardee in Emerging Fields. Ruby Lerner, Founding President & Executive Director of Creative Capital says, “The 2016 class of Creative Capital awardees are creating important and deeply moving work, with immediacy and passion. This class is diverse, it is extraordinarily talented, and we believe the 2016 Creative Capital artists will shape their fields for decades to come."