Top row: Jerry Brennan, Donald G. Evans, Eric Kissamer. Bottom row: Eileen Favorite, Ruben Quesada, Elizabeth Metzger-Sampson

Newcity's "Lit 50" 2019 Includes SAIC Community Members

Newcity's 2019 "Lit 50" list includes several SAIC community members. The annual list "celebrates the power behind the scenes—influencers, publishers, booksellers, curators, educators, associations, museums, organizers and activists who are primarily engaged with words." In addition to the 50 making the list, the publication releases a Hall of Fame, which honors people who are foundational to the literary world of Chicago. Eric Kirsammer (BFA 1986), owner of Quimby's and Chicago Comics, and Donald G. Evans (BFA 2002), founder of Chicago Literary Hall of Fame, are two of the individuals included in the Hall of Fame. Other SAIC community members who made the 2019 list include Lecturer Ruben Quesada (Writing) for his work as poet, professor, and founding member of the Latinx Writers Caucus; Adjunct Associate Professor Eileen Favorite (MFA 1999, Liberal Arts) for her role as cofounder of Her Chapter; Jerry Brennan (BFA 1984), founder of Tortoise Books; and B. Metzger Sampson (MFA 2009), who is executive director of the Chicago Poetry Center. See the full list on Newcity's website.