Michiko Itatani and Joyce Fernandes Honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards

Professor Emeritus Michiko Itatani (SAIC 1983–91, Painting and Drawing) and Joyce Fernandes (MFA 1980) are 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award recipients from the Women's Caucus for Art (WCA). The WCA Lifetime Achievement Awards were first presented in 1979 in President Jimmy Carter’s Oval Office to Isabel Bishop, Selma Burke, Alice Neel, Louise Nevelson, and Georgia O'Keeffe (SAIC 1905–06, HON 1967). The awards were the first awards recognizing the contribution of women to the arts and their profound effect on society. Today, the Lifetime Achievement Awards continue to honor women, their work, their vision, and their commitment.