Five SAIC Community Members Named Guggenheim Fellows

A composite image of all Guggenheim fellows
Clockwise from the top left: Dread Scott, Michelle Grabner, william cordova, Diana Guerrero-Maciá, and Emil Ferris
Publication Date: 
April 12, 2021

Professor Michelle Grabner, Professor Diana Guerrero-Maciá, and alums william cordova (BFA 1996), Emil Ferris (BFA 2008, MFA 2010), and Dread Scott (BFA 1989) were announced as 2021 Guggenheim Fellows. Every year, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation awards fellowships to a diverse group of writers, scholars, artists, and scientists. The 184 fellows were chosen from 3,000 applications through a rigorous process of peer review.

Guggenheim Fellowships are grants made for between six to twelve months. They aim to help provide fellows with blocks of time in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible.