Each semester, SAIC hosts lectures and conversations by world-renowned artists, designers, and scholars who work across a variety of disciplines.  All of the following spring 2018 events are free, nonticketed, and open to the public.

Visiting Artists Program
Formalized in 1951 with the establishment of an endowed fund by Flora Mayer Witkowsky, SAIC’s Visiting Artists Program hosts public presentations by some of today’s most compelling practitioners and thinkers to foster a greater understanding and appreciation of contemporary art and culture. This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.

February 7: Huma Bhabha

February 13: Yuri Suzuki

March 6: Isil Egrikavuk: Distinguished Alumni Lecture Series

March 12: Alok Vaid-Menon

March 20: Simone Leigh

April 18: Nari Ward

April 30: Maggie Nelson


The Grayce Slovet and William Bronson Mitchell Lecture Series
Organized by the Department of Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Designed Objects, the Mitchell Lecture Series brings leaders and emerging voices in architecture, design, and other disciplines from around the world to SAIC for lectures, workshops, and studio visits.

February 13: Yuri Suzuki

March 1: James Shen: People’s Architecture Office

March 29: Chen Chen and Kai Williams

April 16: Shona Kitchen

April 26: John Kurtich Lecture in Interior Architecture: Vishaan Chakrabarti


Conversations on Art and Science
Under the leadership of former SAIC President and current Chancellor Walter Massey, the Conversations on Art and Science series launched in 2011 as a forum for exploring interdisciplinary and critical perspectives on art, science, design, and technology. Lectures and panel discussions bring noted artists, designers, and scholars to campus to discuss myriad perspectives on art, science, design, and technology and sustain the diverse conversations within the work of SAIC students and faculty.

March 1: Quantum Unlearning Symposium: Charles Gaines, Denise Ferreira da Silva, Gabriela Barreto Lemos, Kyle Bellucci Johanson and Kathryn Schaffer