Photography: Events

Parlor Room is a visiting artist program and lecture series created, run, budgeted and curated by graduate students of photography at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. The definition of photography, of what is "photographic," and the uses of photography are broad, unstable, continuously morphing. As photography constantly redefines itself, it has and continues to confront and confuse art.

Parlor Room provokes dialogue and connections with artists, curators, thinkers and critics engaged with photography. Through public presentations, one-on-one studio visits, and informal group events with graduate students and faculty, Parlor Room seeks a diversity of thought and practice.

 

Upcoming Events

Tricia Van Eck
Tuesday, May 01, 5:00 p.m.

Past Events

First Year Photo Grad Studetn Talks
Friday, April 20, 4:15 p.m.6:45 p.m.
First Year Photo Grad Studetn Talks
Friday, April 13, 4:15 p.m.6:45 p.m.
Parlor Room Visiting Artist Lecture Series: Effi and Amir
Thursday, March 29, 5:00 p.m.
Elinor Carucci in Conversation with Parlor Room
Monday, March 19, 5:30 p.m.
Rodrigo Valenzuela
Monday, March 05, 5:30 p.m.
Thursday, December 07 (All day)Friday, December 08 (All day)
Saturday, November 04, 1:00 p.m.
Chelsea Knight
Thursday, October 19, 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 19, 4:30 p.m.6:30 p.m.
Tuesday, April 12, 4:30 p.m.6:00 p.m.
Monday, April 04, 4:30 p.m.6:00 p.m.