About Our Dean of Faculty

Martin Berger is the dean of faculty and vice president of academic affairs at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC).

Berger came to SAIC from the University of California, Santa Cruz, where he most recently served as the associate vice provost for academic affairs and associate campus diversity officer for faculty as well as professor of the History of Art and Visual Culture. Berger’s major initiatives at Santa Cruz included leading the development of the campus’s strategic academic plan, building new, interdisciplinary graduate degrees, and cochairing an initiative to define concrete mechanisms that administrators and faculty can adopt—beyond what is required by law or policy—to address sexual violence and sexual harassment. 

Berger brings a depth of academic leadership experience to SAIC. Previously he was the acting vice provost for academic affairs, acting dean and associate dean of the arts division, chair of the History of Art and Visual Culture department, and founding director of the Visual Studies graduate program at the University of California, Santa Cruz. Prior to his tenure at Santa Cruz, Berger taught at the State University of New York, Northwestern University, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, among other institutions.

Berger received his BA from Wesleyan University, and MA, MPhil, and PhD degrees from Yale University. His scholarly expertise is in 19th- and 20th-century US art history, with a particular focus on the construction of gender and race. He has held fellowships at the National Humanities Center, Smithsonian Institution, Stanford Humanities Center, and the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute.  

Berger is the author of three books and an exhibition catalogue: Man Made: Thomas Eakins and the Construction of Gilded Age Manhood (2000), Sight Unseen: Whiteness in American Visual Culture (2005), Seeing through Race: A Reinterpretation of Civil Rights Photography (2011), and Freedom Now! Forgotten Photographs of the Civil Rights Struggle (2013). He is currently at work on a new book project, Inventing Stereotype: Race, Arts, and 1920s America.

SAIC is pleased to welcome 13 new full-time faculty


Office of the Dean of Faculty

Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., Suite 821

Martin Berger, Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs
Christina Chakos-Kaloyanides, Assistant to the Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs: cchako@saic.edu

Arnold Kemp, Dean of Graduate Studies, Professor of Painting and Drawing
Dwayne Moser, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies: dmoser@saic.edu
Despina Papadeas, Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Graduate Studies and the Chair of Faculty: dpapadeas@saic.edu

Dawn Gavin, Interim Dean of Undergraduate Studies: dgavin@saic.edu
Paul Jackson, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies: pjackson2@saic.edu
Nia Easley, Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Undergraduate Studies: neasley@saic.edu

Gretchen Talbot, Dean of Administration, Budget, and Planning: gtalbot@saic.edu
Molly Scranton, Assistant Director of Faculty Affairs: mscranton@saic.edu
Isabel Garcia-Gonzales, Associate Director, Faculty Employment Resources: igarciagonzales@saic.edu
Geof Teague, Associate Director, Faculty Employment Resources: gteague@saic.edu
Duangdow Arjsiri, Administrative Assistant, Faculty Employment Resources: darjsiri@saic.edu

Beth Wright, Chair of Faculty, Associate Professor of Liberal Arts: ewright@saic.edu
Raja El Halwani, Faculty Liaison, Professor of Liberal Arts: rhalwa@saic.edu

 

Department and Program Heads
Academic Year 2017–18

Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Designed Objects
Jonathan Solomon, Associate Professor and Director: jdsolomon@saic.edu

Architecture

Hennie Reynders, Associate Professor: hreynders@saic.edu

Interior Architecture

Thomas Kong, Associate Professor: tkong@saic.edu

Designed Objects

Tim Parsons, Associate Professor: tparsons@saic.edu

Art Education
Olivia GudeProfessor: ogude@saic.edu

Art History, Theory, and Criticism
Nora Taylor, Professor: ntaylor1@saic.edu

Art and Technology Studies
Eduardo Kac, Professor: ekac@saic.edu

Art Therapy
Cathy Moon, Professor: cmoon@saic.edu

Arts Administration and Policy
Rachel Weiss, Professor: rweiss@saic.edu 

Ceramics
Kitty Ross, Professor: kross@saic.edu

Contemporary Practices
Amy Vogel, Associate Professor and Interim Director: avogel@saic.edu

Fashion Design
Katrin Schnabl, Associate Professor: kschna@saic.edu

Fiber and Material Studies
Diana Guerrero-Maciá, Associate Professor: dguerrero@saic.edu

Film, Video, New Media, and Animation
Frederic Moffet, Associate Professor: fmoffet@saic.edu

Historic Preservation
Anne Sullivan, Associate Professor: asullivan@saic.edu

Liberal Arts
Adam Mack, Associate Professor: amack1@saic.edu

Low-Residency Master of Fine Arts
David Getsy, Professor and Interim Director: dgetsy@saic.edu

New Arts Journalism
Dushko Petrovich, Assistant Professor: dpetrovich@saic.edu

Painting and Drawing
Jose Rodriguez Lerma, Associate Professor: jlermarodriguez@saic.edu

Performance
Robin Deacon, Associate Professor: rdeacon@saic.edu

Photography
Oliver Sann, Associate Professor: osann@saic.edu

Post-Baccalaureate and Professional Certificates
Susan Kraut, Adjunct Professor: skraut@saic.edu

Printmedia
Ayanah Moor, Associate Professor: amoor@saic.edu

Sculpture
Dan Price, Associate Professor: mprice2@saic.edu

Sound
Nic Collins, Professor: ncollins@saic.edu

Visual Communications Design
John Bowers, Professor: jbowers@saic.edu

Visual and Critical Studies
Karen Morris, Associate Professor: kmorris@saic.edu

Writing
Sally Alatalo, Professor: salatalo@saic.edu