Visiting Artists and Scholars

The Sound Department maintains a robust roster of visiting artists and scholars who, in addition to giving presentations about their work, interact with the students in the form of individual studio visits, roundtable discussions, and workshops.


In spring 2020, The Sound Department is pleased to host Visiting Artist in Residence Thessia Machado, who will be teaching three courses during the semester.

This year's visiting artists include:

Pamela Z

Annea Lockwood

Carl Stone

Jaap Blonk

Aura Satz

In recent years the department has hosted the following artists and scholars:

Samson Young

Anri Sala

Jennie C. Jones

Christine Sun Kim

Laetitia Sonami

Sarah Hennies

David Grubbs

Jennifer Walshe

Walter Kitundu

Olivia Block

Christoph Cox

Ikue Mori

James Webb

Francisco Lopez

Peter Cusack

Tara Rodgers

Florian Hecker

Hildegard Westerkamp

Maja Ratkje

Stefan Roigk

Christof Migone

Audrey Chen and Phil Minton

Malcolm Goldstein

Rodrigo Cadiz

Carsten Seiffarth

Vincent Barras and Jacques Demierre

Darcy Neal

Michele Spanghero

Ryan Ross Smith

Arnold Dreyblatt

Rafael Toral

Amnon Wolman

Birgit Ulher