About Our Dean of Faculty

Jefferson Pinder is Interim Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs.

Prior to his appointment, Pinder was a professor in SAIC’s Department of Sculpture. His work provokes commentary about race and struggle. Focusing primarily with neon, found objects, and video, Pinder investigates identity through the most dynamic circumstances and materials. From uncanny video portraits associated with popular music to durational work that puts the Black body in motion, he examines physical conditioning that reveals an emotional response. Pinder’s work has been featured in numerous group and solo shows, including exhibitions at the Studio Museum in Harlem; the Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art in Hartford, Connecticut; Showroom MAMA in Rotterdam, Netherlands; the Phillips Collection; and the National Portrait Gallery in Washington, DC.  He recently exhibited in the Shanghai Biennale, and at the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture. In 2016, he was awarded a USA Fellowship in the field of performance and was a 2017 John Simon Guggenheim Fellow. 

Office of the Dean of Faculty

Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., Suite 821

Jefferson Pinder, Interim Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs
Maria Dunaesky, Assistant to the Dean of Faculty and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs and Special Assistant for the Strategic Plan

Arnold Kemp, Dean of Graduate Studies, Professor of Painting and Drawing
Dwayne Moser, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies: dmoser@saic.edu

Dawn Gavin, Interim Dean of Undergraduate Studies: dgavin@saic.edu
Paul Jackson, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies: pjackson2@saic.edu
Nia Easley, Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Undergraduate Studies: neasley@saic.edu

Gretchen Talbot, Dean of Administration, Budget, and Planning: gtalbot@saic.edu
Molly Scranton, Associate Director of Faculty Affairs: mscranton@saic.edu
Isabel Garcia-Gonzales, Associate Director, Faculty Employment Resources: igarciagonzales@saic.edu
Geof Teague, Associate Director, Faculty Employment Resources: gteague@saic.edu
Maya Gopalan, Assistant Director of Academic Administration
Duangdow Arjsiri, Administrative Assistant, Faculty Employment Resources: darjsiri@saic.edu

Beth Wright, Chair of Faculty, Associate Professor of Liberal Arts: ewright@saic.edu
Raja El Halwani, Faculty Liaison, Professor of Liberal Arts: rhalwa@saic.edu

SAIC is pleased to welcome 13 new full-time faculty

Department Chairs 2019-20

Hennie Reynders, Associate Professor AIADO (Architecture)

Tim Parsons, Associate Professor, AIADO (Designed Objects) tparsons@saic.edu

Hennie Reynders, AIADO (Interior Architecture)

Chris Baker, Associate Professor, Art and Technology

Olvia Gude, Professor, Art Education ogude@saic.edu

Nora Taylor, Professor, Art History ntaylor1@saic.edu

Savneet Talwar, Professor, Art Therapy stalwar@saic.edu

Rachel Weiss, Professor and Chair, Arts Administration and Policy and Chair of the Faculty Senate rweiss@saic.edu

Marie Herwald Hermann, Assistant Professor, Ceramics mhermann@saic.edu

Amy Vogel, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices avogel@saic.edu=

Anke Loh, Associate Professor, Fashion Design aloh@saic.edu

Lisa Vinebaum, Associate Professor, Fiber lvinebaum@saic.edu=

Frederic Moffet, Associate Professor, Film, Video, New Media and Animation fmoffet@saic.edu

Nicholas Lowe, Associate Professor, Historic Preservation nlowe1@saic.edu

Adam Mack, Associate Professor, Liberal Arts amack1@saic.edu

Gregg Bordowitz, Professor, Low Res Director gbordowitz@saic.edu

Dushko Petrovich, Assistant Professor, New Arts Journalism dpetrovich@saic.edu

Jose Rodrigues Lerma,  Associate Professor, Painting and Drawing jrodriguezlerma@saic.edu

Robin Deacon, Professor, Performance rdeacon@saic.edu

Oliver Sann, Associate Professor, Photography osann@saic.edu

Shaurya Kumar,  Associate Professor, Continuing Studies Instructor, Printmedia skumar@saic.edu

Dan Price, Associate Professor, Sculpture mprice2@saic.edu

Nic Collins, Professor, Sound ncollins@saic.edu

Karen Morris, Associate Professor, Visual & Critical Studies kmorris@saic.edu

Alan Rhodes, Associate Professor, Visual Communication and Design grhodes@saic.edu

Sally Alatalo, Professor, Writing salatalo@saic.edu