CAA panel: Stamps School of Art and Design
+ School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Friday, February 14, 2014, 2:30–4:30 p.m.
MacLean Ballroom, 112 S. Michigan Ave.
Open to the public

Sponsored through the Earl and Brenda Shapiro Center for Research and Collaboration at SAIC, faculty from both the Penny W. Stamps School of Art and Design at the University of Michigan and from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago will partner in presenting a panel on Friday, February 14 to coincide with the annual CAA conference being held in Chicago from February 12–15, 2014.

The proposed panel event is intended to bring together artists, designers, and cultural practitioners from each of the two schools who have an interest in further articulating the particular research cultures that emerge and evolve in relation to contemporary art and design practices. With the burgeoning contemporary international discourse concerning the role of research in the art and design fields, particularly as support grows for funded research projects in the humanities and aesthetic practice continues to be academicised through the creation of doctoral degree programs, it is important to create opportunities to engage in discussion and debate on the particular methods, modes, and means of research used by cultural professionals. By focusing on practitioners’ own definitions and interrogations of the individualized, academic and para-academic strategies they employ, the panel discussion hopes to broaden and question the definitions of "research" that have traditionally been formulated by the academy.

Stamps School and SAIC faculty will engage in previous campus and studio visits in order to familiarize themselves with each others' work prior to the panel. The panel will take place in the SAIC Ballroom and will be moderated by Dean Guna Nadarajan (Stamps School) and Rebecca Duclos (SAIC), with an introduction from Douglas Pancoast, Director of the Shapiro Center. The four participating faculty are Matthew Kenyon and Anne Mondro (University of Michigan) and Ruth Margraff and Shawn Decker (SAIC).