Directed by internationally renowned artist, Gregg Bordowitz, the Low-Residency MFA program is taught by a core of SAIC faculty along with a rotating roster of visiting artists, writers, critics, curators, and historians. During the summer residency, visiting artists will each spend weekends presenting their work, participating in the Graduate Studio Seminar, and visiting with you and your peers in your studios. These practicing mentors and peers will serve as models for navigating the current art world and engage you in a collective learning experience—exchanging ideas and thinking in an environment committed to mutual support and constructive criticism. Situated within an acclaimed school of fine art and design, the Low-Res MFA provides you the opportunity to work with SAIC's renowned core faculty as they enhance your work through interdisciplinary research and practice. You are encouraged to develop a plan of study and work with faculty, visiting artists, and alumni advisors across disciplines as you continue to expand and deepen your practice.

Core Faculty, Summer 2015

Gregg Bordowitz Profile gbordo@saic.edu
Lee Blalock Profile yblalock@saic.edu
Stephanie Brooks Profile sbrooks@saic.edu
Joseph Carr Profile jcarr2@saic.edu
Dana DeGiulio Profile  
Andrew Falkowski Profile afalkowski@saic.edu
David Getsy Profile dgetsy@saic.edu
John Neff Profile jneff1@saic.edu
A. Laurie Palmer Profile apalmer@saic.edu
Molly Zuckerman-Hartung Profile mzuckermanhartung@saic.edu

In addition to artists traveling nationally and internationally to participate in the program, summer sessions will also include a roster of Chicago-based artists drawn from the city's arts community as well as SAIC faculty.

Participating Faculty

James Elkins Profile jelkins@saic.edu
David Getsy Profile dgetsy@saic.edu
Mary Jane Jacob Profile mjacob@saic.edu
Alan Labb   alabb@saic.edu
Stanley Murashige Profile smurashige@saic.edu
Claire Pentecost Profile cpentecost@saic.edu
David Raskin Profile draskin@saic.edu
Nora Taylor Profile ntaylor1@saic.edu


Art History Faculty Summer 2015

Gregg Bordowitz
David Getsy


Professional Practices Summer 2015

Joseph Carr
Molly Zuckerman-Hartung


Online Faculty Fall 2014/ Spring 2015

Gregg Bordowitz
Tyler Coburn
Corrine Fitzpatrick
Andrea Ray
Nathanaël


Program Mentors Fall 2014/ Spring 2015

Madeleine Bailey
Shawnee Barton Merriman
Elizabeth Brown
Peter Bugg
Dorota Chudzicka
Sunny Givens
Cristina Goberna
Chelsea Knight
Lily Kuonen

Colin Matthes
Liene Muller
Janet Niewald
Aliza Nisenbaum
Cynthia Pelayo
Marissa Perel
Kellie Romany
Carrie Schneider
Nicole Seisler