Upcoming and Past Events

The students and faculty in the School of the Art Institute of Chicago’s (SAIC) Master of Arts in Visual and Critical Studies program are involved in many special projects, collaborations, and lecture series. Read on for the latest news and events.

News and events related to the Visual and Critical Studies department can also be found on the department-run website, visualandcritical.org.

Past Events


 

Thursday, November 17, 12:00-1:00 p.m.
Joan Flasch Artists' Book Room, 37 S. Wabash Ave., 5th floor

 

 

Joan Flasch Artists' Book Room, 37 S. Wabash Ave., 5th floor

 

Monday, September 19, 4:30–6:00 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., Room 707

 

 

Tuesday, June 21, 5:30 p.m.
Marian Goodman Gallery
5–8 Lower John St.
London

 

 

Saturday, April 23, 12:00–5:00 p.m.
SAIC Ballroom, 112 S. Michigan Ave.

 

 

Exhibition: April 16–17
Reception: Saturday, April 16, 8:00–10:00 p.m.
Dfbrl8r Gallery, 1463 W. Chicago Ave.

Symposium:
Sunday, April 17, 11:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
SAIC Ballroom, 112 S. Michigan Ave.

 

 

Thursday, April 7, 4:30 p.m.
McLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 1307

 

 

Tuesday, October 27, 4:30–5:45 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 707

 

 

September 24–December 1
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 707

 

 

Thursday, April 16, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 619

 

 

Saturday, April 18, 10:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
The Art Institute of Chicago, 159 E. Monroe St., Nichols Trustee Suite

 

April 4–24
By appointment only
Reception: Saturday, April 4, 6:00–9:00 p.m.

Ballroom Projects, 3012 S. Archer Ave.

 

 

March 14, 10:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., room 327

Keynote Speaker: Boris Groys 
Friday, March 13, 7:00 p.m.
SAIC Columbus Auditorium, 280 S. Columbus Dr.

 

 

Friday, March 13, 9:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., room 327

 

 

Wednesday, October 22, 4:15 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 1428

 

 

Monday, March 23, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 707

 

 

Wednesday, November 19, 4:15 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 1428

 

 

Monday, March 16, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 707

 

 

Wednesday, October 15, 4:15 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 1428

 

 

Monday, April 6, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 707

 

 

Wednesday, November 5, 4:15 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 1428

 

 

Monday, April 13, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 707

 

 

Thursday, April 16, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 619

 

 

Thursday, April 2, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 619

 

 

Wednesday, November 19, 12:00 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 1428

 

 

Wednesday, November 12, 4:15 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 1428

 

 

Monday, April 20, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 707

 

 

Thursday, April 9, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 619

 

 

Monday, March 30, 4:15 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 707

 

 

Wednesday, April 9, 4:15 p.m.
Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., room 327

 

 

Tuesday, March 11, 4:15–5:30 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 202

 

 

Tuesday, April 8, 4:15–5:30 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 202

 

 

Tuesday, April 22, 4:15–5:30 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 202

 

 

Wednesday, April 2, 4:15–5:30 p.m.
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 620

 

 

Tuesday, April 15, 4:15–5:30 p.m.
116 S. Michigan Ave., room 202

 

 

Thursday, May 8, 4:00–6:00 p.m.
The LeRoy Neiman Center Gallery, 37 S. Wabash Ave., 1st floor

 

 

Saturday, April 19, 12:00–5:00 p.m.
The Art Institute of Chicago, Modern Wing, Nichols Trustees Suite, 159 E. Monroe St.

 

 

Exhibition: publications published under the Antinomian Press imprint
Opens Monday, November 11
MacLean Center, 112 S. Michigan Ave., room 705 & surrounding hall vitrines
Ben Kinmont: Publications by the Antinomian Press [PDF]

Conversation & workshop: publishing as artistic production
Tuesday, November 12, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.
Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., room 327

Lecture: "Being & Power, or strategies for an alternative practice"
Wednesday, November 13, 6:00 p.m.
Price Auditorium, the Art Institute of Chicago, 111 S. Michigan Ave.
Please use the Michigan Avenue entrance

 

 

 

Tuesday, October 22, 6:00–7:30 p.m.
SAIC Ballroom, 112. S. Michigan Ave.

 

 

Thursday, October 24, 4:30 p.m.
Sullivan Galleries Conference Room, 33 S. State St., 7th floor

 

 

Thursday, November 7, 4:30 p.m.
SAIC Ballroom, 112 S. Michigan Ave.

 

 

Co-Prosperity Sphere, 3219 S. Morgan St., Chicago
April 19–28

Opening reception:
Friday, April 19, 6:00–10:00 p.m.

 

 

The Art Institute of Chicago, Nichols Trustees Suite, 159 E. Michigan St.
Saturday, April 27, 10:00 a.m.–3:00 p.m.

 

 

The Art Institute of Chicago, Stock Exchange and Trading Room, 230 S. Columbus Dr.
Saturday, April 20, 10:30 a.m.–4:45 p.m.

 

The LeRoy Neiman Center, 37 S. Wabash Ave., 1st floor
Wednesday, September 19, 4:30–5:30 p.m.

This event is open only to the SAIC community.