Graduate Noon Hour Lecture Series: Melissa Leandro

 

Wednesday, February 24, 2016, 12:00–1:00 p.m.  
Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., room 903

Shifting Surfaces

Melissa Leandro uses line drawing, weaving, heat fusing, embroidery and collage to build surfaces that have embedded cultural and historical cues but no definable narrative indicators. Leandro will discuss her current body of work, in which she uses the process of cyanotype to create a positive and negative image that captures the silhouette of everyday objects, trinkets and mementos. These real world objects, gathered through travel and family exchange, are transformed into abstract representations that mimic topographical spaces, systems of map-making and landmark images. The original cyanotype prints evolve through multiple iterations that are far removed from their original source. The residue of distorted images and multi-step making are critical to Leandro's practice of creating surfaces that interrupt the viewer's perception of space and flatness through process and materiality.


Graduate Noon Hour Lecture Series, Spring 2016

Cassandra Davis—Tuesday, February 9
Dylan Fish—Wednesday, February 17
Melissa Leandro—Wednesday, February 24
Annie Weiseth—Wednesday, March 2
Elana Adler—Tuesday, March 22
Christian Ortiz—Wednesday, March 30
Allen West—Wednesday, April 6
Jacqueline Surdell—Tuesday, April 12
Calla Dobmeyer—Wednesday, April 20
Oscar Gonzales—Tuesday April 26
Jennifer Huang—Wednesday, May 4
Issac Facio—Wednesday, May 11