Graduate Noon Hour Lecture Series: Christian Ortiz

 

Wednesday, March 30, 2016, 12:00–1:00 p.m.  
Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., room 903

Blue, Pink, Yellow, Green, Pink, Yellow, Blue

Christian Ortiz employs systems of mark making and record keeping as means by which events are remembered, recorded, and discarded. Faced with the transient nature of his own memory, he uses dye processes, embroidery and paper-making to examine experiences of remembrance, trauma/loss, and collective memory and their impact on how we communicate personal experience. In order to raise questions around how we construct a sense of self, Christian addresses issues of value in relation to accessibility/inaccessibility, permanence/impermanence, connection/disconnection, and tangibility/intangibility.


Graduate Noon Hour Lecture Series, Spring 2016

Cassandra Davis—Tuesday, February 9
Dylan Fish—Wednesday, February 17
Melissa Leandro—Wednesday, February 24
Annie Weiseth—Wednesday, March 2
Elana Adler—Tuesday, March 22
Christian Ortiz—Wednesday, March 30
Allen West—Wednesday, April 6
Jacqueline Surdell—Tuesday, April 12
Calla Dobmeyer—Wednesday, April 20
Oscar Gonzales—Tuesday April 26
Jennifer Huang—Wednesday, May 4
Issac Facio—Wednesday, May 11