Graduate Noon Hour Lecture Series: Allen West

 

Wednesday, April 6, 2016, 12:00–1:00 p.m.  
Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., room 903

Vulgaris Cognitio, Common Knowledge

Allen West is searching for interverity, a mode of knowledge that is neither true nor false. In musical hard drives, felt books and sentimental herbarium specimens, he uses objective tools and languages such as sound recordings and diagrams to expose faults in the dissemination of scientific knowledge. His current body of work, spectrogram weavings of birdsong, questions what it means to know a thing and why there is a nature/culture divide.


Graduate Noon Hour Lecture Series, Spring 2016

Cassandra Davis—Tuesday, February 9
Dylan Fish—Wednesday, February 17
Melissa Leandro—Wednesday, February 24
Annie Weiseth—Wednesday, March 2
Elana Adler—Tuesday, March 22
Christian Ortiz—Wednesday, March 30
Allen West—Wednesday, April 6
Jacqueline Surdell—Tuesday, April 12
Calla Dobmeyer—Wednesday, April 20
Oscar Gonzales—Tuesday April 26
Jennifer Huang—Wednesday, May 4
Issac Facio—Wednesday, May 11