Lisa Wainwright

Lisa Wainwright is the Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC), as well as a full professor in the Department of Art History, Theory, and Criticism. For the past 15 years, she has served in major leadership roles for the institution, including Dean of the renowned graduate program before assuming her current position. SAIC President Elissa Tenny calls Wainwright "a passionate leader and educator whose ideas define SAIC's sense of exploration."

In the fall of 2015, Wainwright was named one of the Top Ten Most Influential Cultural Leaders in Chicago by Newcity for governing one of the most esteemed art schools in the country and for bringing in major talent to the city through faculty hires, visiting artists, and exceptional alumni. At SAIC, she has stewarded the development of a number of new graduate and undergraduate programs, partnerships, and curricula, with the Low-Residency Master of Fine Arts (MFA) program as the most recent addition to the School's rich offerings. She also co-chairs the work of the Academic Affairs Sub-Committee of the Board of Governors and chairs the school's Diversity Advisory Group, steering the creation of curricula and programming that represents contributions from a broad scope of artists, designers, and scholars.

Additionally, Wainwright has led the charge in making the school a leader in what she calls the art/design nexus by infusing design into the larger fabric of the curriculum. She prioritized one of its guiding principles, "Chicago as Studio," by encouraging social practice education, while simultaneously shepherding its ongoing commitment to a studio practice in the fine arts. She has also been at the forefront of strengthening the bond between SAIC and its sister institution, the Art Institute of Chicago.

As a Professor in the Department of Art History, Theory and Criticism, Wainwright has authored numerous articles in books and international professional journals, including writing on Robert Rauschenberg, Michelle Grabner, Theaster Gates, and others, as well as essays on education and creativity. She has lectured on topics from the history of the found object in art to Contemporary Art and the rise of a neo-decadent movement at the turn of the 20th century. Her course offerings have included Pop Art and Its Legacy in the 1980s, Art of the 1950s, Art of the 1960s, Rauschenberg and Johns, From Abstract Expressionism to Pop: A Paradigm Shift, and Chicago Private Collections. She is currently creating SAIC's first massive open online course MOOC titled Touring Modernism: From the French Avant-Garde to American Pop and Beyond, which will be available online in the spring of 2016.

Dean Wainwright received her Bachelor of Arts, cum laude, from Vanderbilt University and earned both a Masters and PhD from the University of Illinois.

SAIC is pleased to welcome 13 new full-time faculty


Office of the Dean of Faculty

Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., suite 821

Lisa Wainwright, Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs
Christina Chakos-Kaloyanides, Assistant to the Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs: 312.899.1236

Arnold Kemp, Dean of Graduate Studies
Lynn Tomaszewski, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies: 312.759.1645

Tiffany Holmes, Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Amy Honchell, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies: 312.759.1496
Nia Easley, Administrative Assistant, Undergraduate Division: 312.759.1495

Beth Wright, Chair of Faculty 

Nora Taylor, Faculty Liaison

Amy Dane Falkowski, Associate Dean, Budget and Administration: 312.759.1497

Department and Program Heads
Academic Year 2017–18

Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Designed Objects
Jonathan Solomon, jdsolomon@saic.edu
312.629.6650

Art Education
Olivia Gude, ogude@saic.edu
312.759.1656

Art History, Theory, and Criticism
Michael Golec, mgolec@saic.edu
312.345.3771

Art and Technology Studies
Eduardo Kac, ekac@saic.edu
312.345.3567

Art Therapy
Cathy Moon, cmoon@saic.edu
312.899.7467

Arts Administration and Policy
Adelheid Mers, amers@saic.edu
312.345.3837

Ceramics
Kitty Ross, kross@saic.edu
312.443.7263

Contemporary Practices
Amy Vogel, avogel@saic.edu
312.899.5181

Fashion Design
Anke Loh, aloh@saic.edu

Fiber and Material Studies
Diana Guerrero, dguerrero@saic.edu
312.899.5080

Film, Video, New Media, and Animation
Bruce Jenkins, bjenkins@saic.edu
312.345.3618

Historic Preservation
Anne Sullivan, asullivan@saic.edu
312.629.6680

Liberal Arts
Adam Mack, amack1@saic.edu
312.345.3787

Low-Residency Master of Fine Arts
Lee Blalock, yblalock@saic.edu
312.899.5180

Gregg Bordowitz, gbordowitz@saic.edu
312.345.3590

New Arts Journalism
Jim Yood, jyood@saic.edu
312.345.3772

Painting and Drawing
Terry R. Myers, tmyers1@saic.edu
312.345.3593

Performance
Roberto Sifuentes, rsifuentes@saic.edu
312.443.3338

Robin Deacon, rdeacon@saic.edu
312.443.3782

Photography
Oliver Sann, osann@saic.edu
312.443.7277

Post-Baccalaureate and Professional Certificates
Susan Kraut, skraut@saic.edu
312.899.5224

Printmedia
Ayanah Moor, amoor@saic.edu
312.857.7660

Sculpture
Sara Black, sblack3@saic.edu
312.443.3754

Sound
Shawn Decker, sdecke@saic.edu
312.345.3566

Visual Communications Design
John Bowers, jbowers@saic.edu
312.629.6505

Visual and Critical Studies
Shawn Smith, ssmith8@saic.edu
312.345.9125

Writing
Sally Alatalo, salatalo@saic.edu
312.899.5094