Lisa Wainwright

Lisa Wainwright is the Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC), as well as a full professor in the Department of Art History, Theory, and Criticism. For the past 15 years, she has served in major leadership roles for the institution, including Dean of the renowned graduate program before assuming her current position. SAIC President Elissa Tenny calls Wainwright "a passionate leader and educator whose ideas define SAIC's sense of exploration."

In the fall of 2015, Wainwright was named one of the Top Ten Most Influential Cultural Leaders in Chicago by Newcity for governing one of the most esteemed art schools in the country and for bringing in major talent to the city through faculty hires, visiting artists, and exceptional alumni. At SAIC, she has stewarded the development of a number of new graduate and undergraduate programs, partnerships, and curricula, with the Low-Residency Master of Fine Arts (MFA) program as the most recent addition to the School's rich offerings. She also co-chairs the work of the Academic Affairs Sub-Committee of the Board of Governors and chairs the school's Diversity Advisory Group, steering the creation of curricula and programming that represents contributions from a broad scope of artists, designers, and scholars.

Additionally, Wainwright has led the charge in making the school a leader in what she calls the art/design nexus by infusing design into the larger fabric of the curriculum. She prioritized one of its guiding principles, "Chicago as Studio," by encouraging social practice education, while simultaneously shepherding its ongoing commitment to a studio practice in the fine arts. She has also been at the forefront of strengthening the bond between SAIC and its sister institution, the Art Institute of Chicago.

As a Professor in the Department of Art History, Theory and Criticism, Wainwright has authored numerous articles in books and international professional journals, including writing on Robert Rauschenberg, Michelle Grabner, Theaster Gates, and others, as well as essays on education and creativity. She has lectured on topics from the history of the found object in art to Contemporary Art and the rise of a neo-decadent movement at the turn of the 20th century. Her course offerings have included Pop Art and Its Legacy in the 1980s, Art of the 1950s, Art of the 1960s, Rauschenberg and Johns, From Abstract Expressionism to Pop: A Paradigm Shift, and Chicago Private Collections. She is currently creating SAIC's first massive open online course MOOC titled Touring Modernism: From the French Avant-Garde to American Pop and Beyond, which will be available online in the spring of 2016.

Dean Wainwright received her Bachelor of Arts, cum laude, from Vanderbilt University and earned both a Masters and PhD from the University of Illinois.

SAIC is pleased to welcome 13 new full-time faculty


Office of the Dean of Faculty

Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., Suite 821

Lisa Wainwright, Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs, Professor of Art History, Theory, and Criticism 
Christina Chakos-Kaloyanides, Assistant to the Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs: cchako@saic.edu

Arnold Kemp, Dean of Graduate Studies, Professor of Painting and Drawing
Dwayne Moser, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies: dmoser@saic.edu
Despina Papadeas, Administrative Assistant for the Graduate Division and the Chair of Faculty: dpapadeas@saic.edu

Tiffany Holmes, Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Professor of Art and Technology Studies
Paul Jackson, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies: pjackson2@saic.edu
Nia Easley, Administrative Assistant and the Undergraduate Division: neasley@saic.edu

Gretchen Talbot, Dean of Administration, Budget, and Planning: gtalbot@saic.edu
Robin Hoffman, Director of Academic Operations: rhoffman3@saic.edu
Molly Scranton, Assistant Director of Faculty Affairs: mscranton@saic.edu
Isabel Garcia-Gonzales, Associate Director, Faculty Employment Resources: igarciagonzales@saic.edu
Geof TeagueAssociate Director, Faculty Employment Resources: gteague@saic.edu
Duangdow Arjsiri, Administrative Assistant, Faculty Employment Resources: darjsiri@saic.edu

Beth Wright, Chair of Faculty, Associate Professor of Liberal Arts: ewright@saic.edu
Nora Taylor, Faculty Liaison, Professor of South and Southeast Asian Art History: ntaylor1@saic.edu

Department and Program Heads
Academic Year 2017–18

Architecture, Interior Architecture, and Designed Objects
Jonathan Solomon, Associate Professor and Director: jdsolomon@saic.edu

Art Education
Olivia GudeProfessor: ogude@saic.edu

Art History, Theory, and Criticism
Michael Golec, Associate Professor: mgolec@saic.edu

Art and Technology Studies
Eduardo KacProfessor: ekac@saic.edu

Art Therapy
Cathy Moon, Professor: cmoon@saic.edu

Arts Administration and Policy
Rachel WeissProfessor: rweiss@saic.edu 

Ceramics
Kitty RossProfessor: kross@saic.edu

Contemporary Practices
Dawn Gavin, Professor, Smith-Buonanno Family Director of Contemporary Practicesdgavin@saic.edu

Fashion Design
Katrin Schnabl, Associate Professor: kschna@saic.edu

Fiber and Material Studies
Diana Guerrero-Maciá, Associate Professor: dguerrero@saic.edu

Film, Video, New Media, and Animation
Bruce Jenkins, Professor: bjenkins@saic.edu

Historic Preservation
Anne Sullivan, Associate Professor: asullivan@saic.edu

Liberal Arts
Adam Mack, Associate Professor: amack1@saic.edu

Low-Residency Master of Fine Arts
Gregg BordowitzProfessor:gbordowitz@saic.edu

New Arts Journalism
Jim Yood, Associate Professor: jyood@saic.edu

Painting and Drawing
Terry R. Myers, Professor: tmyers1@saic.edu

Performance
Roberto Sifuentes, Associate Professor: rsifuentes@saic.edu

Photography
Claire Pentecost, Professor: cpentecost@saic.edu

Post-Baccalaureate and Professional Certificates
Susan KrautAdjunct Professor: skraut@saic.edu

Printmedia
Ayanah Moor, Associate Professor: amoor@saic.edu

Sculpture
Dan Price, Associate Professor: mprice2@saic.edu

Sound
Nic Collins, Professor: ncollins@saic.edu

Visual Communications Design
John Bowers, Professor: jbowers@saic.edu

Visual and Critical Studies
Shawn Smith, Professor: ssmith8@saic.edu

Writing
Sally Alatalo, Professor: salatalo@saic.edu